To take or not to take medication?

Hi, My name is Emily and I’m new to this!
I just wanted to know how everyone decided that they would start taking medication. I’ve been unwell for about 5-6 years, only recently diagnosed as I have started to get worse and have lots of swelling and arthitis type symptoms in my hands and wrists. I am worried about the fact that it could get worse but also worried about side effects of the medication my doctor wants to put me on, methotrexate. (I’ve plaquinal and presidione with no luck)
how did everyone make their decisions? and is anyone else on methotrexate!
Emily:)

Hello Emily,

Welcome to the group....i am surprised plaquenil and even prednisone as'nt helped you but not all meds suite all patients...have you been tested besides x-rayed to see what form of arthritis you may have with the Lupus.

There's quite a few members on methotrexate who will answer in due course...it's surposed to be an excellent drug and is similar to Dapsone i was once on but you do have to have regular bloods done to keep a check on your organs.

The couple of links below tell you about methotrexate.

http://www.rheumatology.org/practice/clinical/patients/medications/...

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/meds/a682019.html

Love Terri xxx

I’ve been taking methotrexate now for about a year now followed by leucovor ca 8 hours after I take methotrexate. So far only side affects I get is very drowsy the whole day. I take this medication once a week.

I was on plaquenil but the doctor couldn't get the dosage up high enough due to it impacting my liver. I have been on methotrexate for about 3 months and haven't had any bad side effects. I started out with 4 pills one day a week. I am now at 6 and expecting that to increase after my next appointment in mid January. I do remember that I was wiped out the day after my first dose, and pretty worn out for 2 additional days. Since then, I haven't really noticed a difference.