Mouth sores

I've never had mouth sores before, so I wasn't sure what I was dealing with. Within the last 2 weeks, I've had 2 that left actual cuts on my gums. They were both right by the gum line, so when I brushed my teeth, I totally felt the pain. Today I was fortunate enough to get in to see my dentist so I could show him rather than explain what was happening. He took several pictures of it, so I could show my rheumatologist. The dentist said it was a mouth sore that somehow opened up and left a cut on my gum. Anybody else have anything like this? I just finished a 5 day round of steroids for a flare. I wonder if this sore is part of the flare or because the steroids suppressed my immune system. What are your thoughts?

Hello Rosie,

I'm not a doctor to diagnose as you know but just having a flare i'd say that was part of it.

I've add ulcers and sores in my mouth and nose and you can always guarantee they occur with a bad flare.

This info below may help you also about mouth sores.

((Love & hugs)) Terri :)

Sores or localized abnormalities inside the mouth can arise from a number of causes. Most commonly, mouth sores represent aphthous ulcers, also known as canker sores or aphthous stomatitis. These shallow, painful ulcerations often occur in susceptible individuals during times of stress, infection, or changes in immune status. Certain medications, for example methotrexate, can cause canker sores as well as deficiencies in some B vitamins (1, 2, 6, and 12), iron, folic acid, and zinc. However, irritation, injury, or infection of any of the tissues in the oral cavity can also lead to mouth sores. Sores in the mouth can occur with certain systemic (affecting multiple locations within the body) diseases such as Crohn's disease, Behcet's syndrome, and systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE).