Lupus and Shingles

I work in a hospital, and have to take care of many different people. In which I love to do just that. But my question is, can or am I supposed to take care of someone with active shingles? I "gear up" when going in and out of the room. But yesterday I broke out in hives by the afternoon. It wasnt too hot, or anything unusual about the gowns gloves or masks, I wore. I woke up this morning and feel better. Is this something I should discuss with my rhumy? Thank you. I tried to look up online about it, and from what little I could find, I got the gist that I am NOT supposed to be in that situation. Ive never had shingles, but have had chicken pox.

Hi Tray;

If you have had chicken pox, you can't get shingles. They are the same virus, and those who didn't ever get chicken pox, or got a very mild case as a child, they are prone to shingles. If this person is in the hospital, they should be in isolation and trteated as if they are contagious. I know it's too late for you to avoid exposure, but other staff and patients should be protected.

Regarrds, Sheila

I'm not trying to say Sheila is wrong, but my Mom had chicken pox and then later in life she got Shingles. I had spoken to my Rheumotologist about Shingles because I had chicken pox as a child but a mild case. She told me that with our immune system the way it is; that it is a possibility that we could get chicken pox; at least that's what my Rheum. said. I guess it's a chance we take. I would definitely avoid any one that has shingles.

Have a great day,

Connie

Hi Tray, my mother aunt died from the shingles, now i really don't know what the shingles are !!! Call the doctor to make sure that this will not affect your situation ( LUPUS) in no matter , and hope for the best !!! My wishes go out to you ... Good Luck .... Beverly L.