Anxiety

I’m a teacher and the school year starts next week. Lately I’ve been having severe panic attacks worrying that my health will interfere with my job. Last year I missed almost a full month of school because of lupus- related issues. Am I alone in this?

I have the exact same problem. If I have to do anything early in the morning I start to panic. It take s me about 4 hours to just feel good enough to even start getting ready. Sometimes I have a little bit of drossiness from my night meds and my am meds. I am lucky enough to work afternoon shifts but I often have morning appointments. I hope you have FMLA to protect your job when you are ill. I hate calling in to work. Some people understand but some people do not. I want to be a valued employee. So besides feeling sick the anxiety about calling in makes everything so much worse. So to make a long story short...Yes, you are not alone.

I admire you for being a teacher and having lupus. Teaching alone can be super demanding and on days you don't feel I think are almost impossible.

Take care and know that you are not alone!

I admire you for being a teacher to start with. You are not alone their were days I dreaded calling I but then I decided my health was more important and it would be better to call in than push it so far I be in the hospital or out for a longer period. Of course I decided this after pushing myself and being in the hospital 8 times in one year. I hope you have a great school year with less pain and wonderful well behaved students.